Yes, I’m Still Studying

Once again…back from hiatus. I ended up having to extend my medical billing/coding program. There was simply no way I was going to complete the program by May 18. Now I have until September 18 and, truth be told, I’m still not convinced it’s going to be enough time. I’m feeling overwhelmed and not at all prepared to take the final exam. I’m muscling through, but I’m feeling insecure. I still have 250 “files” to code in this review/practice section (the last part of the program before the final exam), so here’s hoping it all comes together somewhere along the way.

Julia Sorel once said, “If you’re never scared or embarrassed or hurt, it means you never take any chances.” I’m not gonna lie. I’m a little scared that this educational chance I’ve taken is going to blow up in my face. The stubborn side of me will finish my studies. I’ll get through it – we’ve paid for it and I’m not a quitter. I’m just a little worried about whether or not I’ll have retained enough of it to be successful in the field.

And what of my book? The extension frustrates me because it means my characters have to wait that much longer for a resolution to the limbo in which I’ve left them. My main character is pregnant and her husband just walked off the page. I think I might know how I’m going to bring him back, but I haven’t gotten a chance to plot it out because I’m too busy trying to remember when I need to add a Z code to my primary diagnosis code and whether or not my procedure code needs a modifier.

I’ve always been one of those people who prefers to juggle 3 or 4 projects at the same time. I want to do everything and life is too short to not do it all at once. Certainly, I’ve felt insecure before and I’ve come out the other side with flying colors. I know I’ll come out the other side of my studies personally enriched by the experience and that alone is worth the price of admission, isn’t it? Being able to earn a living coding medical files while sitting on my sofa would be the frosting on this particular cake.

I do love frosting.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

