No Central Air = No Writing

My grandpa died early Sunday morning. Even if I had gone to Wisconsin with my husband on Saturday, I wouldn’t have made it in time to see him. (Hubby went to see his family while I stayed home to keep our fur babies from burning the house down.) I had every intention of spending these four days doing so much writing that my fingers would be worn off at the first knuckle. Sunday I lost to the bad news. Rest in peace, Grandpa. I know you are happier reunited with your favorite girl (Grandma) but the world is a sadder place for those you have left behind.

grandpa

As if that wasn’t enough, sometime Sunday night, the air conditioning stopped working. Not a huge problem in other parts of the country, but in the South in July…well…it’s so hot you sweat while taking a cold shower. The temps have been in the 90s and the heat index sometimes puts us into triple digits. I’m pretty sure I saw my computer desk sweating.

On the plus side, it’s keeping feline skirmishes down to zero. Ralphie doesn’t have it in him to expend his energy picking on his housemates. So that’s a win. I shudder to imagine what will happen once it’s comfortable in the house again. So much pent-up energy…so few worthy housemates to put him in his place.

Anyway, I’m on day two with no air and I don’t feel like doing a damn thing. For two days, I haven’t written, I haven’t crafted, I haven’t cooked, and I haven’t slept. It’s too warm to sit or lay down and it’s definitely too hot to turn on the stove. The cats are sprawled out all over the linoleum floor in the kitchen or directly under the ceiling fans. I’ve made them some catnip & tuna ice cubes so they can lick something nice and cool in hopes they don’t get too overheated.

I just got the call that the heating and cooling repairman is on the way. Thank God. I have one day left of my 4 day staycation and I want to make the most of it.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “No Central Air = No Writing

  1. Sounds like you’re having a pretty tough time right now. I hope that soon the air is cooler and the sweet memories help you through your grief.

    Like

Leave a Reply

