Writing Plans Go Bust

Just when I thought I had beat my inner pessimist and stumbled on a writing plan I could stick with, things blew up at my job.

Not literally, but they started remodeling my office. There is no longer 2 hours of peace and quiet before the start of my work day. There are only drills and jack hammers. At first I thought it would be OK. After all, the contractor told me it would only take 7-10 days to complete. No problem. Take a week vacation from my book and I’d soon be writing in brand new digs.

Most of you are probably already laughing at me.

Seven to ten days is industry code for you will never have indoor plumbing again. It’s week number four and still workmen come to my office and appear to do next to nothing. The best part is that I haven’t had a functional bathroom for 3 of those 4 weeks.

I’ve been off the last couple of days, so who knows what’s been accomplished this week so far. I got a phone call from my relief manager this morning because the guys were looking for a flooring delivery. I’ve never received a flooring delivery. This is great news, because the longer it takes to get the flooring installed means it’s that much longer before I have an operational toilet.

“We brought you a port-a-potty and it’s even purple.” My boss thinks she’s funny.

“I don’t care if it has flowered wallpaper and it smells like french fries, I won’t use it. This is where I draw the line.”

She laughed.

“I’m serious. If you come here and I’m not here, check the ladies room at the Taco Bell across the street.”

Now, you might ask, certainly they gave you a desk to work on in some kind of makeshift office. They certainly did – it’s a closet door nailed to the top of a kitchen cabinet. So, even if it was the correct height to sit at, the door is by no means a flat surface. It has decorative cut out shapes that are great for holding my pens in place, but terrible for steadying a lap top.

For the time being, I’m back to writing on my days off.

Which is today.

So, I better get to it.

If the cats would just go take naps and stay off my desk and Ralphie would stop antagonizing the others, I’d be all set.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

