I Could Do Anything…

I’m always looking for that one book that will change my life. When I started reading I Could Do Anything, I was hoping for an easy answer. What I got was over 300 pages of homework. In my heart, I know there is no such thing as an easy answer, but I can dream, can’t I?

That all being said, by the end of the book, I had an epiphany about what I wanted in a career. I’ve always wanted to write, but I’m also passionate about women’s history and genealogy. One of my favorite programs is Who Do You Think You Are. I love learning about the lives of every day people in history – the good, the bad, and the ugly. And my newest obsession is Charleston, SC history. Basically, the short story is – I’m all about writing and history.

Which explains the historical fiction book I’m writing. Now I just need to figure out a way to mix my interests into a job I can look forward to going to every day.

Honestly, I didn’t do all the exercises…I skipped ones that seemed too involved or that I just didn’t have any interest in. As it turns out, you don’t have to do every single exercise to get to the pot of gold.

You start by learning what other people in your life expect of you so you can begin to figure out where you lost your childhood love of _____. From there you will explore what you want from your job and what your interests are. All the way through, you are building an idea of what you would like your future to look like.

If you are still trying to figure out what you want to be when you grow up, give I Could Do Anything a try. Sometimes, when you least expect it, buried in the middle of six pages of free-writing, you’ll find the nugget that gets to the heart of the story.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I Could Do Anything…

  1. This resonates with me as I made the decision a little later in life to follow my dream to be a writer. I felt lost and lacking in purpose until I figured out finally what I’d always wanted to do. My new blog post covers how we are never too old to dream: https://lisasell.wordpress.com/2016/05/20/the-ageing-guide-to-dreaming/. Thanks for following my blog by the way!

    Like

    • Thank you for stopping at my blog ~ I appreciate it! I’ve done a little freelance writing for some regional/local publications, but novel writing has always been my dream. I was always too afraid to start! But at some point, you have to just go for it or forever regret not having tried. I loved your post about never being too old to have a dream. I think dreaming helps keep you young. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

