My Six Month Writing Break

I have a long drive to work. Twenty-six miles one way. According to Google Maps, it should take me about 30 minutes to travel this distance. The only day this works out is on Saturday when most of the Charleston work force, who work a normal Monday-Friday schedule, are still tucked in their beds or lingering over a family breakfast.

During the work week, this same 30 minute commute turns into at least an hour. If there’s an accident anywhere on the system, well, let’s just say sitting on the I26 parking lot is not my idea of a good time.

So I’ve been trying to find the sweet spot. The time of day when I can scoot down the interstate with something at least resembling the 30 minute drive Google Maps promised me.

The sweet spot is 6am. For real.

Every day, I’m up at 5am so I can get out the door somewhere between 6 and 6:30 so I can be at the front of the traffic snarl instead of caught in the middle of it. This means I get to work about two hours before the office opens. Who wants to get to work two hours early? Not this girl. Instead, I’ve been going to the gym near my office to catch an hour on the treadmill.

On Friday, the office opens a half hour earlier, leaving me with only a half hour at the gym. This Friday, I was feeling a little bit like 30 minutes on the treadmill wasn’t even worth the effort. Instead, I brought my laptop with me, figuring it would the perfect quiet time to do some writing.

I brought two stick drives because I couldn’t remember which one had the most current copy of my book. I would find the one most recently updated and get to work.

It was horrifying to discover the last time I wrote one word of my book was…

Six months ago.

I was quite disgusted with myself. I thought sure I’d written something in November or December, but that turned out to be nothing but wishful thinking.

I buckled down and wrote non-stop for the entire hour and a half before I had to get ready to open the office for the day. I made some great progress and I had some great ideas come to me for future chapters. I stopped a couple of times to make quick notes and stuff them into my laptop bag so I had them when I was ready to use them.

I decided I will have this book written, edited, and in the hands of a publisher before I turn 50. (about 3 years from now.) That was another horrifying thought…holy crap, I’m pushing 50?!?!?! When the heck did that happen?

Word count: 10,071

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

