My Story is Like a School Note

There is something in me maybe someday 
to be written; now it is folded, and folded,
and folded, like a note in school. 
~ Sharon Olds

After a long Thanksgiving break, I’ve been having a difficult time regrouping. Of course I was still sick, but that didn’t keep me from baking pies, green bean casserole and cornbread stuffing. Of course it didn’t keep me from eating all of the above (and much more). But it does keep me from writing.

Part of our Thanksgiving feast. I didn't have room on the table for the fruit salad or three pies.

Part of our Thanksgiving feast. I didn’t have room on the table for the fruit salad or three pies.

The quote comes from Goodreads.com. I find myself feeling as Sharon Olds describes – like my story lives folded up over and over inside my soul where it will remain until I find a way to spread the pages out, smoothing them flat, and fitting them together like a jigsaw puzzle. This torn edge matches that torn edge, so this scene must come after this other scene. The light will flash in my head and I will happily scribble down the story as it assembles in front of me. I’m pretty good at jigsaw puzzles. I could have this book written TODAY if someone would just give me a box full of pieces.

But, much as my battles with my waistline, I know I have to belly up to the bar (as it were) and get on with it.  Talk, though, is cheap. It’s easy to say I’m not going to eat that last piece of pie, but the next thing I know, I’m sitting on the sofa with the empty pie pan and a fork. It’s easy to say I’m going to write, but quite another thing to plant my butt in the chair.

I’m off work Tuesday and Wednesday this week. My plan is to finish my Christmas shopping, and then I will write. Or maybe I’ll write first and then reward myself with standing in ridiculously long lines to buy gifts I’m not sure the recipient will love as much as I do.

I can’t promise thousands of words, but there will be some amount of progress.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My Story is Like a School Note

  1. Even if only a few words, writing is writing. See writing this blog is writing. With a few twists and turns you could turn your entire blog into a book!

    Celebrate you
    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

    • I’ve thought about that. Other people have successfully turned blogs into books, so why couldn’t I? I fear if I put that much pressure on a blog it will suddenly be as difficult to write as my book! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

